[Home][Creativity][Genres][Resources][About Us]

[Fantasy][Horror][Science Fiction][Western]

[Books]

--------------------------------------------------------------------

[About Abebooks.com] [About Amazon.ca] [About Amazon.com] [About Amazon.co.uk] [About ChristianBook.com]
An affiliate of Abebooks.com. In association with Amazon.ca. In association with Amazon.com. In association with Amazon.co.uk. An affiliate of ChristianBook.com.

Christian Westerns Reading List

This page lists the books that fall under the rarefied category of Christian Westerns – stories in the tradition of Zane Grey and Louis L'Amour, but with strong spiritual themes. The protagonists display an open faith or a growing spiritual awareness leading to belief in Christ. I have not been able to review all of these titles, which are listed in chronological order, grouped according to series. To add your recommendations to the list, contact Shannon McNear.

Last updated on March 3, 2005

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Bagdon, Paul
West Texas Sunrise
Stallions At Burnt Rock (Revell, 2003)
Long Road To LaRosa (Revell, 2003)
The Stranger From Medina (Revell, 2003)
Thunder On The Dos Gatos (Revell, 2003)
Bly, Stephen
The Land Tamers (Tyndale, 1987)
Confederate veteran Sandy Thompson looks for peace and solitude in the expanses of the untamed West. His quest is complicated by his reluctant business partnership with a lowdown peddler named Montana Mudd and an orphaned Indian girl entrusted to his care.
Paperback Writer (Broadman & Holman, 2003)
Paul James Watson is a paperback writer. But is he writing fiction, or living it?
The Stuart Brannon Series
Hard Winter At Broken Arrow Crossing (Crossway Books, 1991)
Stuart Brannon leaves home after losing wife, baby, and cattle, and finds new purpose in a remote, snowbound stage depot in Colorado.
False Claims At The Little Stephen Mine (Crossway Books, 1992)
Brannon and Fletcher strike it rich, but must contend with claim jumpers, mining corporations, and an attractive new partner named Velvet Wendell.
Last Hanging At Paradise Meadow (Crossway Books, 1992)
Brannon's return journey to Arizona is delayed by trouble in a tiny frontier town.
Standoff At Sunrise Creek (Crossway Books, 1993)
Brannon comes home to his ranch in Arizona – only to find a land corporation claiming ownership of his property.
Final Justice At Adobe Wells (Crossway Books, 1993)
Brannon travels to Mexico to buy cattle, but finds the cattle rustled and their owner murdered.
Son Of An Arizona Legend (Crossway Books, 1993)
The past overlaps the present when during Stuart Brannon's 40th birthday party, a 12-year-old Indian boy shows up on the doorstep with the shocking news that he is Brannon's son.
Code Of The West
It's Your Misfortune And None Of My Own (Crossway Books, 1994)
Escaped convict and gunslinger Tap Andrews assumes the identity of a dead rancher, in hopes of starting a new life and winning the hand of a genteel Eastern lady.
One Went To Denver And The Other Went Wrong (Crossway Books, 1995)
While Tap tries to clear himself of a murder he did not commit, Pepper must face her own past.
Where The Deer And The Antelope Play (Crossway Books, 1995)
Life doesn't slow down for Tap Andrews... will he make it to his wedding on time?
Stay Away From That City... They Call It Cheyenne (Crossway Books, 1996)
Tap finds himself the acting marshall of Cheyenne, and must hold together a town bent on riot and lynching.
My Foot's In The Stirrup ... My Pony Won't Stand (Crossway Books, 1996)
With much relief, Tap and Pepper leave Cheyenne behind, but God gives them new opportunities to stand for the right and minister to those in need.
I'm Off To Montana For To Throw The Hoolihan (Crossway Books, 1997)
Their dreams of settled ranch life seem to be coming true, but the adventures don't stop for Tap and Pepper.
The Austin-Stoner Files
The Lost Manuscript Of Martin Taylor Harrison (Crossway Books, 1995)
What happens when a New York City editor must ask the help of a Western bronc rider?
The Final Chapter Of Chance McCall (Crossway Books, 1996)
The adventures of Lynda Austin and Brady Stoner continue, as they search for the missing last chapter of the latest novel Lynda hopes to see published.
The Kill Fee Of Cindy LaCoste (Crossway Books, 1997)
A ghost from Brady's past complicates Lynda and Brady's wedding plans. Can the unlikely couple find her in time to keep her from destroying herself – and can they reconcile their own differences before making the final commitment to each other?
Fortunes of the Black Hills
Beneath A Dakota Cross (Broadman & Holman, 1999)
Henry "Brazos" Fortune leaves his Texas ranch to find his destiny – both spiritual and material – in the Black Hills of South Dakota.
Shadow Of Legends (Broadman & Holman, 2000)
All his life, Todd Fortune has been known as the son of Daddy Brazos. Can he shape an identity strong enough to be respected on his own?
Long Trail Home (Broadman & Holman, 2001)
Sam Fortune discovers the only way to escape the consequences of the past is to face the people who were left behind.
Friends And Enemies (Broadman & Holman, 2002)
Last Of The Texas Camp (Broadman & Holman, 2002)
The Next Roundup (Broadman & Holman, 2003)
Brouwer, Sigmund
Pony Express Christmas (Tyndale, 2000)
A Pony Express rider stops to help a family in need at Christmas despite his mission to deliver the mail without delay.
Sam Keaton: The Legends of Laramie
Evening Star (Bethany, 2000)
"God, I believe, is a patient cowboy himself, going deep and wide into the mesquite for stray souls like mine," claims the gunfighter wearing the name of Samuel L. Keaton.
Silver Moon (Bethany, 2000)
Sun Dance (Bethany, 2001)
Thunder Voice (Bethany, 2001)
Burns, Terry
Mysterious Ways (RiverOak, 2005)
An outlaw thinks posing as a preacher is the perfect disguise, but soon finds out he's bitten off more than he can chew.
Curtis, Jack
Christmas In Calico (Daybreak Books, 1998)
Award-winning scriptwriter of Gunsmoke combines all the classic elements of a western with a Christmas story.
Lacy, Al
Journeys Of The Stranger
Legacy (Multnomah, 1994)
Silent Abduction (Multnomah, 1994)
Blizzard (Multnomah, 1995)
Tears Of The Sun (Multnomah, 1995)
Circle Of Fire (Multnomah, 1996)
Quiet Thunder (Multnomah, 1996)
Snow Ghost (Multnomah, 1997)
Morris, Alan
Guardians of the North
By Honor Bound (Bethany, 1996)
Heart of Valor (Bethany, 1996)
Bright Sword of Justice (Bethany, 1997)
Between Earth And Sky (Bethany, 1998)
Wings of Healing (Bethany, 1999)
Morris, Gilbert
Reno Western Saga
Reno (Tyndale, 1992)
Rimrock (Tyndale, 1992)
Ride the Wild River (Tyndale, 1992)
Boomtown (Tyndale, 1992)
Valley Justice (Tyndale, 1995)
Lone Wolf (Tyndale, 1995)
Thoene, Brock & Bodie
Saga of the Sierras
The Man From Shadow Ridge (Bethany, 1990)
Riders of the Silver Rim (Bethany, 1990)
Gold Rush Prodigal (Bethany, 1991)
Sequoia Scout (Bethany, 1991)
Cannons of the Comstock (Bethany, 1992)
The Year of the Grizzly (Bethany, 1992)
Shooting Star (Bethany, 1993)
Flames on the Barbary Coast (Bethany, 1994)
Walker, Jim
Wells Fargo Trail
The Dreamgivers (Bethany, 1994)
The Nightriders (Bethany, 1994)
The Rail Kings (Bethany, 1995)
The Rawhiders (Bethany, 1995)
The Desert Hawks (Bethany, 1996)
The Oyster Pirates (Bethany, 1996)
The Warriors (Bethany, 1997)
The Ice Princess (Bethany, 1998)
Young, Lane Willis
A No-Good Outlaw (Pleasant Word, 2003)
A man raised in a Christian home, but lured to the west and its rough lifestyle, finds living the life of an outlaw difficult for someone with a conscience.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

[Home][Creativity][Genres][Resources][About Us]

[Fantasy][Horror][Science Fiction][Western]

[Books]

[Home] [Creativity] [Genres] [Resources] [About Us]

[Fantasy] [Horror] [Science Fiction] [Western]

[Books]